Access to the FabLabs.io time / historical data

Hello, I was looking for the number of FabLabs per year in the world and per country since, let’s say 2000 :wink: , and I couldn’t find any reliable data… For one thing, FabLabs.io exists since 2014 if I’m correct, but it gives us the data in real time. I tried to use archive.org but then again, you can only find the data for the month of june 2016 or september 2015. It is not precise enough.
I’m quite astonished that we cannot find this piece of information available anywhere on the any of the official FabLabs websites. I searched the Fab Foundation network and couldn’t find anything… As a journalist, I had some figures in my notebooks and then in other reports I found others but still, it is not precise enough.

Does anyone has the data ? Fab Foundation ? And is it possible for starters to have access to the past data from FabLabs.io ? hat would be a good start to have the JSON files for each December 31st i.e since 2014 ?
That would actually be awesome.
Thanks.

2 Likes

Hi @Ophelia, this is an important issue that wasn’t considered at the beginning of Fablabs.io but that we’ve been trying to address in several ways:

• there wasn’t a field in the Lab forms for specifying the inauguration of a Lab, we added this (and more!) and when we’ll do soon a global review we will ask all the labs to fill this
  • there is a column in the database that stores when the page was created (not necessarily when the Labs was opened!) but 1) this won’t cover everything before 2014 and 2) we need to improve the APIs, but before that we need to improve the technical infrastructure, we are working on it but it will take a bit of time since it is a delicate work
  • I’d need to check the database more in depth in order to see if we have more relevant data, this is part of the several efforts I’m doing on improving the data of Fablabs.io and analyzing and visualizing it